See Your Message Here

If you are interested in seeing your organization's message on First Nations News, please contact us at:

Ontario, Canada

Want More Depth?

If you're looking for more info on this story, we'd be happy to set you up with someone to speak to about why this story is relevant to your audience.

Interview Opportunity

Looking to add more depth? We can schedule an interview for you with the people mentioned here. Call:
Or email: mleung@ecostrategy.ca

For More Information

If you'd like any more details about this news, or would like to get the inside scoop on upcoming, similar news, send us an email: distribution@firstnationsnews.com


Community Power Awards nominees announced

Tuesday, November 2nd 2010 10:46:16am

Media Advisory
Community Power Awards nominees announced

The Ontario Sustainable Energy Association (OSEA) is pleased to announce the Community Power Award nominees for 2010. The Community Power Award is presented to individuals and/or organizations, whose work has contributed significantly to the Community Power movement. Gord Miller, the Environmental Commissioner of Ontario will open the evening with a keynote presentation at the Community Power Awards Banquet at the Community Power Conference at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, November 15, 2010.

The Community Power Conference is Ontario’s largest annual gathering of Community Power proponents, producers and supporters. Together with the Power Networking Centre trade show, the conference attracts industry regulators, commercial and community power generators, farmers and First Nation and Métis delegations. The conference offers two full days of meeting and learning from Community Power experts, while the trade show displays the latest innovations in power generation technologies and services.

For agenda, see http://bit.ly/d9WQTt

Please see below for a list of Community Power Awards nominees for 2010.

Community Power Leader
Deborah Doncaster, CP Fund
Marion Fraser, Fraser and Company
Brent Kopperson, Windfall Centre
Derek Satnik, Mindscape Innovations

International Community Power
Tetsunari Iida, Institute for Sustainable Energy Policies (ISEP)
Preben Maegaard, Nordic Folkecenter for Renewable Energy
Joseph Pesch, FESA
Fabio Rosa, Instituto Para O Desenvolvimento De Energias Alternativas E Da Auto Sustentabilidade (IDEAAS)

Aboriginal Community Power
William Big Bull, Walpole Island First Nation and Piikani First Nation
Byron LeClaire, Pic River First Nation
Roger Peltier, Wikwemikong Unceded Nation
Grant Taibossgai, M’Chigeeng First Nation

Rural Community Power
Joe Botscheller, Farmers for Economic Opportunity, Simcoe
Paul Klaesi, Fepro Farm, Cobden
Glen Estil, Sky Generation, Lion’s Head
Don McCabe, Ontario Federation of Agriculture, Guelph

Urban Community Power
Mike Brigham, SolarShare
Paul Charbonneau, EnergyAdvocate.ca, Toronto
Karen Farbridge, City of Guelph
Robert Gallagher, Town of Blind River/North Shore Power Group
Mike Layton, Green Energy Act Alliance, Toronto
William Mates, Town of Ingersoll
Joyce McLean, Toronto Hydro, Toronto
Rob McMonogle, City of Toronto
Tom Rand, MaRS, Toronto
Ijaz Rauf, Amadiyyah Muslim Community, Vaughan
Rick Salay, Neighborhood Unitarian Universalist Congregation, Toronto
Erin Shapero, Councillor of Ward 2, Town of Markham
Stephen Sottile, Utilities Kingston

2009 winners were:
- Community Power Leader Award - George Smitherman, former MPP Toronto Centre and Minister of Energy and Infrastructure (Toronto)
- Aboriginal Community Power Award - Michael Fox, President, Fox High Impact Consulting (Thunder Bay)
- Urban Community Power Award - Ken Traynor, Toronto Renewable Energy Co-Op (Toronto)
- Rural Community Power Award - Paul Norris, President, Ontario Water Power Association (Peterborough)

Further details can be found at: http://www.cpconference.ca
For conference registration, please visit: http://registration.cpconference.ca

For more information, please contact:
Maria Leung, Environmental Communication Options, mleung@ecostrategy.ca OR 416-972-7401